ATLANTA (August 10, 2020) – Today, Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan announced the appointment of members to the Senate Study Committee on Surgical Smoke Evacuation Systems. The study committee was established pursuant to SR 981, which the Senate adopted during the 2020 legislative session. The Study Committee on Surgical Smoke Evacuation Systems will be chaired by Sen. Gloria Butler (D – Stone Mountain).

“Senator Butler has been a dedicated member of the Senate Health and Human Services Committee for a number of legislative sessions and will diligently examine the potential harmful effects of surgical smoke on our state’s healthcare workers in the operating room,” said Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan.

The Senate members appointed to serve on this committee are:

Senator Chuck Hufstetler (R – Rome)          

Senator Marty Harbin (R – Tyrone)  

Senator Nan Orrock (D – Atlanta)

Senator Sheikh Rahman (D – Lawrenceville)          



Contact Director of Legislative Affairs

Macy McFall