Lt. Governor Cagle Announces 2017 Senate Study Committee Appointments

June 14, 2017

ATLANTA, June 14, 2017 – Lt. Governor Casey Cagle has announced appointments to the Special Tax Exemption Study Committee and the Rural Georgia Study Committee. These senate study committees, created with the passage of Senate Resolutions 222 and 392, will evaluate potential legislative reforms to address the challenges facing Georgia’s families, businesses and communities. Findings will be submitted to Lt. Governor Cagle, who will offer recommendations to the General Assembly ahead of the 2018 Legislative Session.

“These study committees are invaluable resources for the legislature as we seek to build a stronger, more economically productive state – in which all Georgians are rewarded for their hard work,” said Lt. Governor Cagle. “Our chairmen and committee members will thoroughly evaluate these issues to determine how the state of Georgia can maximize our potential. I am confident both study committees will bring forward new ideas to build a better Georgia as we prepare for our next legislative session and beyond.”

Lt. Governor Cagle has made the following appointment for 2017 Senate Study Committees:

Senate Special Tax Exemption Study Committee (Senate Resolution 222):

Senator John Albers, Chair

Senator Chuck Hufstetler

Senator Jack Hill

Senator Hunter Hill

Senator William Ligon

Senator Mike Dugan

Senate Rural Georgia Study Committee (Senate Resolution 392):

Senator David Lucas, Chair

Senator Steve Gooch

Senator Freddie Powell Sims

Senator Greg Kirk

Senator Ed Harbison

Senator Jack Hill

For more information on the 2017 Study Committees, including the companion legislation outlining each committee, please visit: