Cagle Announces Committee Chairman Appointments

January 7, 2009

Today, Lt. Governor Casey Cagle announced the appointments of the Senate’s Standing Committee Chairmen.

“The Senate’s standing committees provide a valuable forum for Senators to take the time necessary to really engage and debate intricate and important issues to Georgia. I am proud to announce our Chairmen and am confident in each Senator’s ability to lead his or her committee.  As the Senate focuses our energy this session on the significant budget shortfall, I look forward to the work of the committees and am certain much of their efforts will pay off through well constructed legislation,” Cagle said.

A full list of Standing Committees and Chairman are listed below:

Agriculture and Consumer Affairs, Chairman John Bulloch

Appropriations, Chairman Jack Hill

Banking and Financial Institutions, Chairman Bill Hamrick

Economic Development, Chairman Chip Pearson

Education and Youth, Chairman Dan Weber

Ethics, Chairman Eric Johnson

Finance, Chairman Ronnie Chance

Government Oversight, Chairman Renee Unterman

Health and Human Services, Chairman Don Thomas

Higher Education, Chairman Seth Harp

Insurance and Labor, Chairman Ralph Hudgens

Interstate Cooperation, Chairman Ed Harbison

Judiciary, Chairman Preston Smith

Natural Resources and the Environment, Chairman Ross Tolleson

Public Safety, Chairman Jack Murphy

Reapportionment and Redistricting, Chairman Judson Hill

Regulated Industries and Utilities, Chairman David Shafer

Retirement, Chairman Bill Heath

Rules, Chairman Don Balfour

Science and Technology, Chairman Cecil Staton

Special Judiciary, Chairman John Wiles

State and Local Government Operations, Chairman Lee Hawkins

State Institutions and Property, Chairman Johnny Grant

Transportation, Chairman Jeff Mullis

Urban Affairs, Chairman David Adelman

Veterans, Military and Homeland Security, Chairman John Douglas