New Senate Leadership Prepared to Tackle Key Issues

November 18, 2008

Lt. Governor Casey Cagle congratulated the Senate’s new leadership team, which the Republican Caucus voted on today during a caucus meeting.

“Today’s process was not only efficient and smooth, but it produced a prepared team that will lead the Senate very well as we tackle key issues facing our state.  We are anxious to focus our efforts on the budget shortfall as we identify further efficiencies and ways to cut spending in order to assure our state remains fiscally sound. 

“Our entire caucus joins me in thanking Senator Eric Johnson for his years of service as President Pro Tempore.  Eric put many hours of hard work into leading the Senate and we are further along today as a state because of his efforts.  While his leadership will be missed, we will look forward to our continued work with him in the State Senate.

“I congratulate Senator Tommie Williams on his nomination as President Pro Tempore. He will lead the Senate with distinction and his experience as Majority Leader has prepared him well. I appreciate his ability to work with others in finding consensus solutions and this skill will be invaluable.

“It is an honor to welcome Senator Chip Rogers to our leadership team as Majority Leader. Chip is a talented legislator who is committed to his principles and I am confident in his ability to lead well. He is well-respected under the Gold Dome and has a bright future ahead.

“Our Majority Whip, Mitch Seabaugh, will continue to work diligently for our caucus and we are pleased that he will be serving in this role again.  Senator Dan Moody was re-elected as our Caucus Chairman and has always been able to keep a close pulse on the issues that are important to the Senate.  Caucus Vice-Chairman, Senator Judson Hill, will again serve and we are grateful to have his input and experience.  Senator Bill Cowsert will serve as Caucus Secretary and we are very thankful to have him on board.”

Senator Tommie Williams was nominated as President Pro Tempore and will participate in a final election to be held on January 12th.