Cagle Appoints Senate Task Force on Value Government

February 15, 2008

(Atlanta, GA) – Lt. Governor Casey Cagle announced today his appointment of Senator Mitch Seabaugh to chair the Senate Task Force on Value Government.

“I am confident in Senator Seabaugh’s ability to lead this task force and look forward to their recommendations to improve our government services at a lower cost,” said Lt. Governor Casey Cagle.

“We are eager to find specific legislative and budgetary changes that could bring greater value to each dollar spent in our state.  I am honored to be appointed chairman of this important task force and look forward to serving with my fellow Senators,” said Senator Mitch Seabaugh.

Senator Bill Heath, Senator Judson Hill and Senator Ed Tarver will also serve on the Task Force on Value Government.

The Task Force will work in coordination with the Commission for a New Georgia to identify specific areas where government services can be delivered more effectively and efficiently to Georgia citizens.  Additionally, the Task Force will make recommendations to the legislature for legislative or budgetary changes that can be made to improve service delivery or lower the cost of services.  

The study committee will meet from the day of establishment until the beginning of the 2009 legislative session.