Charter Systems

  • Lt. Governor Cagle's Charter Systems Act gives individual school districts the option of stepping out from state and federal mandates to adopt an educational policy and curriculum that is right for the needs of their students. 
  • Teachers, parents, and local school boards work with a local governing board and a strict set of accountability standards from the State Board of Education to ensure a high level of performance from their students and develop a system that will best meet the needs of their children and communities.

Today, Georgia has 42 Charter School Systems, they include:

Atlanta Public Schools

Banks County Schools 

Baldwin County Schools

Barrow County Schools

Calhoun City Schools 

Candler County Schools

Carrollton City Schools

Cartersville City Schools

Catoosa County Schools  

Coffee County Schools 

Clarke County Schools 

Colquitt County Schools 

Dawson County Schools

Decatur City Schools 

Dougherty County Schools 

Dublin City Schools

Fannin County Schools

Floyd County Schools

Fulton County Schools 

Gainesville City Schools

Gilmer County Schools

Glascock County Schools 

Gordon County Schools

Haralson County Schools 

Hart County Schools 

Jasper County Schools

Liberty County Schools

Lumpkin County Schools

Madison County Schools 

Marietta City Schools

Morgan County Schools

Peach County Schools

Putnam County Schools

Randolph County Schools

Stephens County Schools

Terrell County Schools

Tift County Schools 

Union County Schools 

Vidalia City Schools

Warren County Schools

White County Schools



Visit the Georgia Department of Education website for complete information on Georgia's Charter School Program